• Directions
Levy Court

555 Bay Rd Dover, DE 19901

(302) 744 - 2305 / Fax: (302) 736- 2279

Email:  admin@kentcountyde.gov


Office Hours: 8:00am-5:00pm Mon.-Fri.  

 Group Photo 2 2023

Elected Officials
General Meeting Schedule
Organizational Chart

Kent County Levy Court is your County government.  The Levy Court is composed of seven elected Commissioners, six of whom are elected from the districts in which they reside and the seventh is elected at-large to represent the entire County. The Levy Court is the highest executive power that exists in Kent County, Delaware. It is charged with overseeing the daily operations of Kent County government. The Levy Court was established in 1655 when the Delaware General Assembly, then under Dutch control, enacted legislation that called for taxes to be levied on all land owners in Delaware. By 1793, the duties had grown to include property assessment, real estate transfers and granting land applications. During the same year, the General Assembly passed an act that allowed the Levy Court Commissioners to elected by the people.


Over the next two hundred years, the Levy Court took on the responsibility of appointing assessors and establishing assessment fees, constructing sewage systems, determining street light placement and any other topics of public interest. It also provides library and ambulance service, in addition to financial assistance to local service organizations. The Levy Court is continuously expanding the services the County provides to its constituents. The Levy Court is committed to serving the public and ensuring that the best possible decisions are made for the enhancement of Kent County residents.

Levy Court
NameTitleDistrictTerm Start
Hon. Joanne Masten Commissioner1 January 05, 2021
Hon. Jeffrey W. Hall Commissioner2 January 03, 2023
Hon. Robert J. Scott Commissioner4 January 03, 2023
Hon. Paul Hertz Commissioner6 January 03, 2023
Hon. Allan F. Angel Commissioner - Vice President3 January 05, 2021
Hon. George Jody Sweeney Commissioner5 January 05, 2021
Hon. Terry L. Pepper Commissioner - PresidentAt-Large January 03, 2023
Row Offices
NameTitleDistrictTerm Start
Hon. Harold K. Brode Register of Wills  January 05, 2021
Hon. Brenda A. Wootten Clerk of the Peace  January 05, 2021
Hon. Eugenia Thornton Recorder of Deeds  January 03, 2023
Hon. Norman R. Barlow Sheriff  January 03, 2023

The Levy Court conducts Committee meetings on the first and third Tuesday of the month and Business meetings on the second and fourth Tuesday of the month at 07:00 PM.


The Regional Planning Commission conducts public hearings on the first Thursday of the month and business meetings on the second Thursday of the month at 07:00 PM.


The Board of Adjustment conducts its public hearings and business meetings on the third Thursday of the month at 06:30 PM.


For all other boards/committees general meeting schedules please consult the links below


Boards & Committees


Levy Court Investment Advisory Committee
Regional Planning Commision Personnel Administration Board
Board of Adjustment Pension Review Committee
Sewer Advisory Board Building Codes Review Committee
Parks & Recreation Commission Community Board of Appeals
Community Development Advisory Board St. Jones Greenway Commission
Board of Assessment Review Employee Council
Library Advisory Committee Aeropark Development Authority
  Kent Economic Partnership


For Larger Image Please Click Here

Home | Directions | Commissioners | Contact Us | Employment | Legal Notice | Webmaster

555 Bay Rd Dover, DE 19901

Copyright © 2013, All rights reserved.